eBooks and their Readers

As a fan of Amazon.com, I gave my husband and son their own Kindles for Christmas the year it was first released. Anymore, they very rarely read a book that isn’t on their Kindle. My husband bought me my own Kindle for Valentine’s Day one year but as a librarian, I really like holding a book in my hands. I never really used my Kindle except when travelling but that all changed when I broke my arm over a year ago and had a difficult time holding open Robert Jordan’s really long Wheel of Time books. Even though we owned hard copies of all his books, I decided to purchase them for my Kindle and have never regretted this choice. Even after my arm healed, I still found I preferred reading really long books on the Kindle. Have I forsaken printed books? Definitely not. I typically only use the Kindle when I am too impatient to wait for a copy of a new book from the public library. 

Several years ago, the district that I work in purchased some Nooks to be housed in the library. I really like the fact that I can buy one copy of the book and it can be downloaded onto multiple devices. Because the Nooks are not to go home with students, circulation is limited and mostly used by teachers for small reading groups. The Nooks have provided a way to update the guided reading books available to teachers at minimal cost. Students find the Nooks a bit old-fashioned and prefer to use iPads instead. Funding has been limited for the Nooks so I really like that Barnes and Noble provides a free book and app every Friday. If only I would remember to check the website every Friday.

3 thoughts on “eBooks and their Readers”

  1. Interesting the “old-fashioned” attitude towards Nooks. Given that you have used all three devices, do you have a favorite one? Does it differ based on the audience (kids vs. adults) or the document (book, textbook, picture book, etc) or the purpose (school, learning or pleasure reading)?

    1. Ha! I thought I did a good job explaining my reasons but clearly I did not. So, I like the Nook color for my elementary students because the picture books are in clear color and often interactive. I also love that the Nook app is available on the iPad expanding who can see the books.

      I personally love my basic Kindle and would highly recommend it to someone who just wants an e-reader and not the connectivity of say an iPad, Kindle Fire or even the Nook. My Kindle has Internet access but it is so difficult that there is no temptation to check Facebook or my email.

      So I guess in answer to your questions, yes different e-readers for different purposes. I am lucky enough to have access to all of them and would suggest that each person make their own decision on what they really want and/or need.

      1. Thanks for your opinion on all that. You are fortunate to have access to all platforms. Interactive Nook books: sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

