Presentation Tools – VoiceThread

Although I have seen how other people have used VoiceThread over the last few years, I have never used it with my classes. Not sure why other than the fact that there are so many options out there that I forget about this one.

I really liked how easy it was to get started and feel that even my lowest students would be able to use VoiceThread. The biggest obstacle would come adding in comments whether by voice or by typing. I have only a few microphones so it would take a long time for students to record their comments. On the other hand, my students are not very fast at typing so it could take them several class periods to type in only a few comments.

It took me about 10 minutes to create the VoiceThread below using pictures I had already saved onto my computer and then adding my comments. I chose to make this because each year, I have my Kindergarten students do beginning research on naked mole rats. Since they are so young, I teach them that research is something you do when you want to learn more about something that interests you (ex.: dogs, cats,   cars, etc…). We read a fiction and a nonfiction book and then compare them. Using these books, the students pull out facts about them. The VoiceThread below shows the information that is typically learned by the students.

Naked Mole Rats VoiceThread

One thought on “Presentation Tools – VoiceThread”

  1. I love how you are using this tool! I teach kindergarten also and we are currently inquiring about sun,soil,water and air, so I was thinking of doing a similar project about earthworms. We have had worms in our class and have been watching them work in the soil. Very exciting! Perhaps we could take our projects one step further and have our students learn from each other? Let me know if you would be interested. (btw – my kids are also huge Mo Willems fans!)
    Barbara

    PS – I haven’t yet reached the stage where the naked mole rats are actually ‘cute’
    😉

Leave a Reply

