Social Bookmarking – Pinterest

Ok, so I am still working on the second week and will soon get to the topic for the third week but in the meantime — Pinterest.

Thanks to one of my fellow co-workers, I received an invite to Pinterest. It would be interesting to know how long it takes to get an invite if someone doesn’t send it to you.

Although I haven’t spent a ton of time looking at other people’s boards, I think this is actually a bookmarking site that I would take the time to use and keep up. I started with a board called “Favorite Places & Spaces” but only because I didn’t really know where else to start. Since then, I have created a board on bulletin boards because I was searching for fresh, new ideas since parents will be visiting the school tomorrow night and I haven’t updated mine since before Christmas.  Since I am frequently searching for ideas, Pinterest provided the perfect forum to capture a thumbnail image for future use. In the past, I have copied the image into PowerPoint and saved it there. Of course, I frequently forgot to copy in the URL so I had no idea where the idea came from.

This week while talking to a different co-worker, she mentioned that she saw all the buzz about Pinterest but didn’t really understand why someone would use it. I found myself trying to convince her how wonderful it is and all the uses for it (planning a vacation, redecorating a room, recipes, etc…).

I can see many uses for Pinterest in the classroom but it is currently blocked in my district. I would love to have students create a board for their biography projects with pictures of the person, where they lived, objects that are attributed to them, and so much more. Or an animal board with pictures of the habitat, prey, food they eat, where they live, etc.. Plus, since Pinterest is so easy to use, students would be able to complete it in a class or two which would be a huge bonus!

Until the next new thing comes along, Pinterest will definitely be something I will use in the future.

Bulletin Boards

1 thought on “Social Bookmarking – Pinterest”

  1. Hi! Would have started writing this reply earlier, but clicked the link you provided and visited Pinterest…was gone for a bit! Then discovered the link to your Reading Boards (“Like!”)…gone for longer! Pinterest and YouTube are related that way for me–you think you’re going to be [x minutes], but ends up being [fill in the blank].

    You mused about how long it takes to get an invite to join Pinterest if someone doesn’t send one to you. I think it varies. My invitation arrived fairly quickly, I know others have waited weeks.

    Toward your attempt at being evangelist to your skeptical friend about Pinterest, I think sometimes someone needs to see if for themselves to appreciate. Pinterest can be very alluring upon dropping in, depending on the main activity page and how recent activity has left the array of pinned images like a kaleidoscope. Anyway, *we* know how cool it is! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing! Hope you continue to enjoy Expand Your Toolkit!

Leave a Reply

