Blogging attempt two

While in grad school, I had to maintain a blog for a semester talking about clickers and Second Life. Once the class was over, I never wrote another post. My hope is that this time it will stick and I can pass on what I learn to my students and other interested people.

Setting up the blog was pretty painless although I had a difficult time choosing the blog address. In one sense, I believe the Internet is trending toward the use of real names but on the other hand, I want to maintain my privacy. So, I used my initials along with part of my last name in the address and gave the blog a totally different name. Not sure if I will keep it the way it is but for now and the purpose of the class it will stay as is.

I follow many blogs about different topics: silly, creative, books, serious, sports, and many others. I don’t read them as much as I would like but I find them useful. Hopefully someone in this world will see my blog and find something useful too someday.

2 thoughts on “Blogging attempt two”

  1. Totally know what you mean about starting a blog and not following up! I started one when I first found out about wordpress.com, and hadn’t really touched it since! For this course we had to use wordpress.com again and it had been so long I couldn’t remember my username. Ha!
    I do have another blog though that I self-host, mostly for writing and poetry and absolutely off-the-wall musings, but it still is really hard to stay in the act of posting routinely when there’s always so much going on in the world. And the whole condition of anonymity you bring up is definitely quite a quandary….privacy is important, but at the same time, putting a real face and name to your academic/literary/other works really helps to connect an audience sometimes.
    Regardless, I hope you enjoy the program and get some much needed blogging out of your system over the course of the next few weeks!

  2. Thank you for the encouragement. I was successful during grad school because I was given a topic to blog about. Now, I will have to come up with my own topics and the will to post even though there isn’t a grade or credit attached to it.

    Your blog sounds interesting and a great way to get feedback from people you may not know. Maybe you have a book in there somewhere.

Leave a Reply

