Expanding my world through blogging

My name is Debbie and I am currently in my 3rd year as a librarian at a K-6 school in upstate New York. Just in case anyone is thinking, wow, cool she lives in New York City, it takes over 4 hours to get to NYC from where I live. Upstate NY is snowy, mountainous, and far different from the city everyone thinks of when they hear NY.

I grew up in Lemont, PA a mile from the home of Penn State University where I would eventually go to college. Thanks to my first college roommate during my freshman year, I got my first job in the math library. I continued to work there my entire time at PSU and somewhere in Pattee Library there is a book honoring my 1000 hours of service. Over the 3+ years that I worked there, I learned many different aspects of librarianship but never seriously considered it as a career option.

I have moved many times since I graduated from PSU and have earned a MPA from South Alabama University and a MLIS from Syracuse University. I have lived in California, Mississippi, Alabama, Japan, Hawaii, New Jersey, and New York since getting married in 1989. I would move back to Japan if I ever get the opportunity and I loved my entire time there.

As well as a librarian, I am a Stampin’ Up demonstrator. I enjoy making my own cards to give to friends and family on special occasions. To get inspiration, I follow many blogs but my favorites are:

Jill’s Card Creations

Chic’ n Scratch

Some of my other favorites blogs include:

Cake Wrecks

Free Technology for Teachers

iLearn Technology

PostSecret

I look forward to learning all about the tools this class is offering and my goal is to keep this blog going once the class is finished.

Cheers!

11 thoughts on “Expanding my world through blogging”

  1. Hi Debbie, welcome. My name is Evan, one of the designers of the Expand Your Toolkit site. I like the theme you chose for your blog, and I enjoyed your posts. Hope you have a great experience over the next several weeks. Sharing some of your favorite blogs, what a nice idea! In reply, while these are not all strictly blogs, thought I would share a few sites that I like in return. Cheers!

    Lifehacker (http://lifehacker.com/) – “Tips, tricks, and downloads for getting things done.”

    Internet Public Library (http://www.ipl.org/) – “Information You Can Trust” wonderful clearing house and directory to quality free online reference resources.

    Grooveshark (http://grooveshark.com/) – free streaming music, massive selection, you can create playlists and enjoy music while doing other things (cannot download, listen to on your computer).

    Mashable – (http://mashable.com/) online news site dedicated to covering digital culture, social media and technology. Great way to stay current on tech news.

    Internet Archive (http://www.archive.org/) – a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages. A wonderful resource.

    Piet van der Ek (http://vdek.wordpress.com/) My Dutch “alter ego” for some hobby graphic design work that I like to do, when I have the time (far less often these days).

    My Parents Were Awesome (http://myparentswereawesome.tumblr.com/) – “Before embarrassing fanny packs and Lite FM, there was a time when Mom and Dad were young and carefree—just like you. They were also fun and flirty, full of hope and desire and effortlessly cool.”

  2. Debbie, thanks for sharing the links to your favorite blogs. Free Technology for Teachers and iLearn Technology are great tie-ins to our course. You’ve made a great start on the blog, and our student team from SJSU SLIS is looking forward to hearing how all the tools work for you.

    Getting some comments going back and forth with other colleagues on your blogs is a great way to keep the blogs alive, during and potentially after the course. There are links to all of your blogs on the “participants” page, which you can click to from the short list above the search box on the main course page.

    Best wishes, Lisa

  3. I enjoyed reading about your background. Although I never lived overseas, I have also lived and worked in places other than NY state – Connecticut, Georgia and NY, and also graduated from SU with my MSLIS.
    Good luck on this journey through these “things”!

    1. Thanks, Marie! I highly recommend living overseas and experiencing how different the world is outside of our borders. Eye opening, enriching, and one of the best experiences of my life. I look forward to reading your journey too.

  4. @Evan- Love the last blog. As a parent and a product of the 80s, I am sure I have embarrassed my children many times. I will be sure to check out the ones that I don’t already use and since Pandora is blocked at school maybe I can use Grooveshark.

  5. Stop sharing all these great blogs! I can’t keep up with the awesomeness! I could definitely spend too much time looking at the ‘awesome’ photos on the “My Parents Were Awesome” blog! Hilarious! And I’m thrilled to know about Grooveshark since Pandora doesn’t work here in Indonesia! So many great resources out there: iLearn Tech and FreeTech4Teachers are really useful. Got to keep exploring!

    1. I will try to keep my sharing to a minimum. 🙂 Wow, Indonesia. I visited Bali about 13 years ago and it was absolutely beautiful and the people were wonderful. Are you from there or just working there? I would love to hear about websites you find useful and/or fun.

  6. Debbie,
    Thanks for listing the stamping blog links! I love rubber stamping and have been doing it since I was little. I don’t find a lot of time for it but I do make all of my own Christmas cards by hand every year and I’m helping my Zumba instructor do her wedding invitations with stamping!

    Corry
    The Musical Librarian

    1. I haven’t bought a card in over 5 years and enjoy making them for people I know. I would love to see a picture of the wedding invitations if you can share.

Leave a Reply

